So you’ve set up a password on your iPad, iPhone or iPod and you’ve forgotten the password. The thing about the passcode is that its pretty strong and can’t simply be unlocked. Hopefully you’ve made regular backups of your device in iCloud or iTunes.

recover iphone

Recovery Mode

Forgetting your passcode means that the device is going to have to be restored. Restoring your device will delete everything off the device, whether it be an iPad, iPhone or iPod. This might be frustrating to hear, however if there was a simple way to unlock any device then that would kind of defeat the purpose of setting up a passcode.

If you make regular backups to iCloud or iTunes, then it will be a very simple process of restoring all your content and settings. Firstly the device is going to have to be put into recovery mode and then restored in iTunes. I’ve had to restore my iPhone before and since everything was backed up to iCloud I was able to restore pretty much everything. iCloud backs up purchased music, movies, TV shows, apps, books, photos and video in the Camera Roll, device settings, app data, Messages (iMessage, SMS, and MMS), contacts, ringtones, home screen and app organization.

 

Restore iOS Device

  1. Disconnect the USB cable from your iPad, iPhone or iPod
  2. Launch iTunes
  3. Turn off your iOS device. (Press and hold the Home and Power button until it turns off)
  4. Press and hold the Home button while you reconnect the USB cable
  5. Keep holding down the home button until iTunes shows an alert saying that a device in recovery mode has been detected.
restore itunes

Restore in iTunes

Now that the device is in recovery mode we can restore with iTunes. After it has been restored to factory default it’s time to restore from the backup. If you’ve been making backups in iTunes, simply restore from iTunes by selecting the most recent backup that was made. If you’re restoring from iCloud, turn your device on after the restore is done and select “Restore from iCloud Backup” when it asks you. Depending of the size of your backup and your internet speed it could take a while. When it finishes, your device will look just like it did before, complete with all your contacts, bookmarks, ect.

And remember to backup often!